Wokha is one of the eight District of Nagaland. It was bifurcated from Mokokchung District in the year 1973. Then the District Administrative HQ. was set up a Wokha Town in the month of December 1973 under the control of Deputy Commissioner. The Deputy Commissioner’s Office looks after the administration of the District, maintain Law and Order, work for general welfare and see to the proper and smooth functioning of the various Department in the District.


Since its inception, Shri. Binod Kumar, IAS was the first Sub – Divisional Officer – Cum – Deputy Commissioner in the year 21/12/1973.

The Office of the Deputy Commissioner Consists of a Deputy Commissioner, under him one Addl. Deputy Commissioner, 2 (Two) Sub – Divisional Officer’s Viz, SDO Civil Wokha Sadar & SDO Civil Wokha HQ. and 4 (four) Extra Assistant Commissioners.

There is an Office Superintendent who hold charge of all branches and Office establishment. Each branch consists of an Upper Divisional Assistant and few clerks to man file works.

In the District HQ (DC Office) administrative set up is divided into several branches given below:

  1. Accounts Branch
  2. Arms Branch
  3. Confidential and Border Cell
  4. Council Branch
  5. Development Branch
  6. Establishment Branch
  7. Inner Line Permit (ILP) Branch
  8. Judicial Branch
  9. Land Revenue Branch
  10. Stationary Branch
  11. Transport Branch